Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) FAQ

  1. Home
  2. Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) FAQ
Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) FAQ

What is the Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) examination ?

The Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) certification is designed by the The Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA). It is a  globally recognized internal auditor certification. This certifications aims to enhance the knowledge, skills, and competencies to effectively carry out professional responsibilities for any internal audit, anywhere in the world.

If I need to retake an exam, are there restrictions on when I can take the exam again? Is there a limit to the number of times I can retake an exam?

There is a 60-day waiting period that applies to all exam retakes to protect the integrity of the exam. Please reference the Candidate Handbook for additional information on this policy. • There is no limit to the number of times and exam part can be taken.

Are the CIA requirements different in countries around the world?

With the exception of a few designated countries, CIA requirements are the same for all candidates.

How many years do I have to complete all three parts of the CIA exam?

Candidates have 3 years to complete the program.

Can I reschedule an exam? If so, then how?

You can reschedule your exam through Pearson VUE’s online system or by contacting their customer service team. There are fees associated with this and limits.

When are CIA exam scores released?

Unofficial results are available immediately after the exam is completed. Official results can be found on the IIA website after 1-2 days.

How far in advance do I have to schedule an exam?

It is recommended that you schedule your exam at least 45 days in advance. Exam center schedules are based on a first come, first served basis. The IIA is not the only client using Pearson VUE test centers so it is best to schedule as soon as possible to ensure your first choice for your exam appointment.

How is the CIA Exam scored?

Each CIA Exam Section is graded on a scaled score of 25-750, with a score of 600 being required to pass. Objective questions are mechanically graded and must be answered correctly to receive credit. Comments and/or calculations pertaining to an answer are not considered.

Do I need to the take the CIA Exam parts in order?

No. You may take them in any order.

Where can I take the CIA Exam?

The CIA Examination is offered at Pearson VUE testing centers. Most Pearson VUE test centers are open five or six days a week and offer daily time slots for the exam.

How to schedule the examination ?

For registering you are required to follow the steps below:

  • You need to fill the registration form.
  • Create an account on Pearson VUE. If you already have an account on Pearson VUE, then login to the account.
  • Select Proctored Exams and enter the exam number, Certified Internal Auditor (CIA)
  • Follow the prompts to register and make the payment.

What type of questions appears in the exam?

There will be multiple choice questions in the exam.

How many questions will appear in the exam?

  • Part 1 = 125 questions
  • Part 2 = 100 questions
  • Part 3 = 100 questions

What is the passing criterion for the exam?

The passing score is 600 which is applied consistently to all three parts of the exam.

What are the languages available for the exam?

The exam is available in Arabic, Traditional Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Thai, and Turkish language.

What is the time duration for the Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) Exam?

The Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) is a 4.5 hours exam.

What is the exam structure?

Part 1 – Essentials of Internal Auditing The CIA exam Part 1 is well aligned with The IIA’s International Professional Practices Framework (IPPF) and includes six domains covering the foundation of internal auditing; independence and objectivity; proficiency and due professional care; quality assurance and improvement programs; governance, risk management, and control; and fraud risk. Part one tests candidates’ knowledge, skills, and abilities related to the International Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing, particularly the Attribute Standards (series 1000, 1100, 1200, and 1300) as well as Performance Standard 2100. Part 2 – Practice of Internal Auditing The CIA exam Part 2 includes four domains focused on managing the internal audit activity, planning the engagement, performing the engagement, and communicating engagement results and monitoring progress. Part 2 tests candidates’ knowledge, skills, and abilities particularly related to Performance Standards (series 2000, 2200, 2300, 2400, 2500, and 2600) and current internal audit practices. Part 3 – Business Knowledge for Internal Auditing The CIA exam Part 3 includes four domains focused on business acumen, information security, information technology, and financial management. Part Three is designed to test candidates’ knowledge, skills, and abilities, particularly as they relate to these core business concepts.

Is there any prerequisite for the exam?

Master’s Degree (or it Equivalent) – 12 months – With experience in Internal auditing or its equivalent Bachelor’s Degree (or equivalent) – 24 months – With experience in internal auditing experience or its equivalent Associate’s Degree, three A-Level Certificates, grade C or higher (or equivalent) – 60 months – With experience in internal auditing experience or its equivalent.

CIA free practice test