Certified Protection Professional (CPPⓇ) FAQ

  1. Home
  2. Certified Protection Professional (CPPⓇ) FAQ
Certified Protection Professional (CPPⓇ) FAQ

What is the Certified Protection Professional (CPPⓇ)?

The Certified Protection Professional (CPP) is recognized as the “gold standard” certification for security management professionals and proves the candidate’s knowledge and competency in seven key domains of security. Globally recognized as the standard of excellence for security management professionals. 

What are the benefits of getting an ASIS certification?

 Earning an ASIS board certification is a visible acknowledgment that you possess a mastery of core security principles and skills essential to the best practice of security management. It shows you are committed to excellence, professional growth, and a code of conduct.

  • Validating your security management expertise
  • Elevating your stature in the profession
  • Gaining a competitive edge in the marketplace
  • Enhancing your career and earnings potential. ASIS certificates earn an average of 20% higher salaries than those without an ASIS certification (per ASIS Certification Survey – April 2019)
  • Broadening experience and training from law enforcement and military backgrounds.

How many certifications are offered by ASIS?

ASIS offers the following major certifications:

  • Certified Protection Professional (CPP)
  • Professional Certified Investigator (PCI)
  • Associate Protection Professional (APP)
  • Physical Security Professional (PSP)

What are the learning objectives for the Certified Protection Professional (CPPⓇ) exam?

The objectives for the Certified Protection Professional (CPPⓇ) are:

  • Security Principles and Practices
  • Business Principles and Practices
  • Investigations 
  • Personnel Security
  • Physical Security 
  • Information Security 
  • Crisis Management

How many questions are there in the Certified Protection Professional (CPPⓇ)?

There are 225 multiple-choice questions in the exam.

How much time will be provided to the candidate to complete the Certified Protection Professional (CPPⓇ)?

The candidate will be given 4 hours to complete the exam. 

How can I register for the ASIS exam?

The candidate can register the ASIS Certified Protection Professional (CPPⓇ) exam at the HERE.

What is the examination fee for the Certified Protection Professional (CPPⓇ) exams?

The fee for the CPP exam is $335 for ASIS members, $485 for nonmembers, and the retake fee is $225. 

What are the eligibility requirements for the Certified Protection Professional (CPPⓇ) exam?

Nine (9) years of security experience*, at least three (3) years of which shall have been in responsible charge* of a security function


Earned a bachelor’s degree or higher from an accredited institution of higher education and have seven (7) years of security experience*, at least three (3) years of which shall have been in responsible charge* of a security function.

  • Have been employed full-time in a security-related role
  • Not have been convicted of any criminal offense that would reflect negatively on the security profession, ASIS, or the certification program.

How can I prepare for the Certified Protection Professional (CPPⓇ) exam?

The candidate can prepare for the CPP exam by some steps such as visiting the official site, learning, and understanding the objectives, books and guides, practice tests, training programs, etc.

Why do I need to recertify my ASIS certification?

When you carry the CPP, PCI, PSP, or APP designation, you are telling the world that you have mastered the knowledge and skills needed to be successful security management professional. To continue to hold your designation, you also promise to stay current in this field.

To stay current, you must recertify your designation every three years by completing 60 continuing professional education credits. 

What is the recertification fee?

The recertification fee is mentioned below:

  • $85 ASIS members
  • $105 nonmembers

Can I retake the exam?

You may take the exam up to three times during your two-year eligibility year. There must be 90 days between each attempt. 

What is the fee for retaking the exam?

The fee to retake the exam is $225 for CPP, PCI, and PSP. The retake fee for APP is $150. If you fail the exam three times in your two-year eligibility period, you must reapply and pay the full fee.